MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

 

Ranger District - Home of Exploring and Learning For Life

Learning for Life is a classroom based educational supplement for schools which supports teachers with a curriculum including subjects such as making ethical decisions, dealing with peer pressure, and learning to say no to the temptation of drugs.

Visit our National Website at www.LearningForLife.orgExternal Link

Today's Top Stories
No Current Stories Posted...

                 

2016-2017 CAREER EXPLORING PROGRAMS 

 

Career Exploring is a unique career exploration program for young men and women ages 14-20.

These programs provide an ideal link between the academic environment and the real world.


Aviation:

Poplar Grove Airport & Vintage Wings and Wheels Museum – Meets Thursdays, 7-9p.m., Vintage Wings and Wheels Museum, blue hanger, 5151 Orth Rd., Suite A-1, Poplar Grove, IL.  Contact: Dennis Blunt, (815) 398-4274, dennisblunt@att.net.

 

Cosmetology:

Educators of Beauty – Meets bimonthly:  Thursdays from 5:00 p.m.-6:30 pm. at Educators of Beauty, 2601 N. Mulford Rd., Rockford, IL.  Contact: Jennifer Gunnon, (815) 639-9200.

 

Engineering:

UTC Aerospace, 4747 Harrison Ave., SW side entrance, Rockford, IL.  Contact: Nick Wlaznik, 815-226-6345, Nick.Wlaznik@hs.utc.com

 

Fire & Rescue:

North Park Fire Department – Meets bimonthly:  Thursdays from 7:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m., at North Park Fire Department, corner of Harlem & Forest Hills, Loves Park, IL. Contact: Dennis Johnson (815) 633-6335, scoutmaster601@gmail.com.

Rockford Fire Department. – Contact: Investigator Jeff Kloweit, 815.987.5699, Jeff.Kloweit@rockfordil.gov.

North Boone Fire Department – Contact: John Ragland, 815-765-2791.

 

Journalism & Media:

Rockford Register Star.  For more information contact Jared Carlin, 815.397.0210, [Click for member's page]


Law Enforcement:

Winnebago County Sherriff’s Department. Contact: Tammy Stanley, StanleyT@WCSO-IL.us, 815-319-6502

Boone County Sheriff’s Department and Belvidere Police Department – Meets every 3rd Thursday of the month, 6:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m., at the Public Safety Building, lower lever, 615 North Main Street, Belvidere, IL, 61008. Contact: Officer Steve Jones, 815-298-3864, jones@belviderepolice.com.

Cherry Valley Police Department – Meets every 3rd Tuesday of the month, 5:30 p.m.-7:30 p.m., at the Cherry Valley Police Department, 806 E. State St., Cherry Valley, IL.  Contact: Officer Jesse Pearse, 815-978-5286, jpearse@cherryvalley.org.

Rockford Police Department, Public Safety Building, 420 W. State St., Rockford, IL.  Contacts: Lt. Scott Oswald, 815-587-5871, Scott.Oswald@rockfordil.gov.

Winnebago City Police Department. Contact: Nicholas Haff, Haff@BagoPolice.com, (815) 335.2351.

 

Law & Government:

Boone County State’s Attorney Office.  Meets bimonthly:  Thursdays from 7-p.m., at the Boone County Courthouse, 601 N. Main St., Belvidere, IL. Contact: Kelly Rohrer, (815)544-0868, krohrer@boonecountyil.org.

Winnebago County State’s Attorney Office & Winnebago County Bar Association : Location - Winnebago County Justice Center, Courtroom A, 650 W. State St., Rockford, IL.  For more information please contact Jared Carlin, 815.397.0210, [Click for member's page]


Medical:

SwedishAmerican Hospital, meets monthly, Wednesdays.  Contact: Sheryl Head 779-696-7224, shead@swedishamerican.org

 

Skilled Trades:

Northern Illinois Building Contractors Association. Contact: Pat Lamb, 815-229-5636, pat@nibca.net.

  

There is a one-time yearly application fee for most programs.  Each program varies and cost range is $24-$30.  For more information, contact Jared Carlin, 815.397.0210, [Click for member's page].