MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Sycamore's, The Jeff Clark Spirit Award

An annual award to recognize two Scouts in the District who, like Jeff Clark, really show their Scout Spirit, living by the Scout Oath and Law

Jeff Clark was a member of Troop 166 in Fox River Grove, Illinois.

He reached the rank of Eagle Scout on Oct. 24, 1995, one day before he and six of his Cary Grove High School classmates were tragically killed when an express commuter train hit their school bus in Fox River Grove, Illinois.

Jeff was involved in Scouts for eight years from Cub Scouts through Eagle in both his native state of Washington and here in Illinois. He truly loved nature and the outdoors and he liked the fact that Scouting provided him many opportunities to enjoy the outdoors. Whether it was a Troop camp out or a high adventure outing to places like Philmont, Jeff always had fun, met new people and discovered new learning experiences.

Jeff lived his life honoring the Scout Oath and Law. In Jeff's memory a special Sycamore District award has been established. All active Scouts in the District are eligible to participate and attempt to earn this award. Scouts just need to complete the enclosed application. The award recipients will receive an engraved plaque and one of the following three choices. First, they may choose to receive $200.00 toward Summer Camp fees either in Council or out. Second, they may choose to receive $200.00 toward a High Adventure fee. Third, they may choose to receive $200.00 to be placed in the Scout's individual Scout Account within their unit to be used for Scout related expenses.

This annual award will honor and recognize two Scouts in the District who, like Jeff Clark, really show their Scout Spirit. Are you a Scout that lives by the Scout Oath and Scout Law and actively participate in your Troop by attending outings, summer camp, earning rank advancement and merit badges, holding positions of responsibility, etc?

Show that your Scout spirit is soaring high like Jeff's by completing the application by January 15th.

The Jeff Clark Committee will complete the judging and selection process by February 8th.

To make a nomination of a Scout, please download the following files:

After Complelting the Nomination Form, Please Send to the following:

Michael Ancheta 

Attn: Jeff Clark Scout Spirit Award

600 N IL Rt. 31, Suite A

Crystal Lake, IL 60012



NOTE: Once your form is received by the Administrator, you will be contacted confirming receipt of the nomination

Past Award Recipients:

2019Austin JohnsonTroop 369
2018James M. FriendTroop 160
Matthew WestfallenTroop 329
2017Lars PetersdorffTroop 166
William WickerstyTroop 127
2016Nicholas JankaTroop 166
Michael McLaughlinTroop 455
2015Ehren BraunTroop 132
Gabriel JankowskiTroop 329
Craig CarlsonTroop 160
Colin BoysenTroop 368
Zachary JoswiakTroop 158
2014Michael RandlesTroop 657
Kara NilesCrew 165
Nicholas PatzerTroop 155
Malachy BreslinTroop 161
Hunter BjorkTroop 166
Adam PayseurTroop 550
2013Andrew FriendTroop 160
Liam GahaTroop 657
Cory MastersonTroop 166
Daniel MunaoTroop 127
David NilesTroop 165
2012Cormick BreslinTroop 161
Lenny FloresTroop 657
Mark HegrebergTroop 165
Samuel PayseurTroop 550
Bryce StruttmanTroop 152
Matthew TorresTroop 368
2011Kevin KandlerTroop 166
Joseph PerroneTroop 167
Nicholas StangerTroop 161
Kevin WrightTroop 171
2010Mason GennardoTroop 152
Alex KaskasTroop 166
Brian MudraTroop 165
Thomas SlaterTroop 161
2009Dan Banko, Jr.Troop 152
Jared EwertTroop 190
Gary HauslTroop 222
Jorden KleinfelterTroop 369
2008Matt ClaypoolTroop 190
Jonathan MankeTroop 329
Andy DomotoTroop 161
Judy RogersCrew 460
2007Rob DeeringTroop 160
Casey ClemmonsTroop 159
Andrew BaertTroop 152
2006April HarmanCrew 159
Trevor KrenzTroop 190
Kevin NashTroop 166
Kyle WhiteTroop 171
2005Conor Patrick DaltonTroop 165
Mattew KunzTroop 661
Evan KruegerTroop 190
Kevin KucharskiTroop 329
Jake WajdaTroop 163
2004Christopher AprimTroop 166
Kevin CrewsTroop 190
Robert DanielTroop 161
Adam HartTroop 163
Andrew KunzTroop 661
Samantha PankauCrew 303
Drew StevensTroop 329
Andrew TharpTroop 158
2003Eric HuntTroop 661
Andrew J. MedveczTroop 369
Tyler J. NatoliTroop 158
Logan TaylorTroop 190
Brad TesonTroop 347
2002Will McKayTroop 159
Anthony BernardiTroop 163
Nicholas ScheferTroop 166
Zachary LindnerTroop 329
2001Ryan MurphyTroop 163
Bryan SvercauskiTroop 155
Steven BuckTroop 347
2000David KosinTroop 127
Paul RouhasTroop 163
1999Erik KarolusTroop 349
Corey KrauseTroop 163
Dane ErbachTroop 166
Benjamin PetersonTroop 163
Edward Halinski IIITroop 455
1998Kurt ButtstadtTroop 166
Todd McDowellTroop 329
Daniel PiehlTroop 166
John Wajda, Jr.Troop 163
1997Andrew ReedTroop 166
Joseph ClatchTroop 160
Joseph BarnesTroop 349


    The recipients will have a choice of one of the following awards:

    • $200.00 toward Summer Camp fees
    • $200.00 toward High Adventure fees
    • $200.00 toward their unit Scout Account to be used for Scout-related expenses