MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Ranger District - Home of Exploring and Learning For Life

Learning for Life is a classroom based educational supplement for schools which supports teachers with a curriculum including subjects such as making ethical decisions, dealing with peer pressure, and learning to say no to the temptation of drugs.

Visit our National Website at www.LearningForLife.orgExternal Link

Today's Top Stories
No Current Stories Posted...

2018-2019 CAREER EXPLORING PROGRAMS

Career Exploring is a unique career exploration program for young men and women ages 14-20.

These programs provide an ideal link between the academic environment and the real world.

Aviation:

Poplar Grove Airport & Vintage Wings & Wheels Museum – Thursdays, 7-9p.m., blue hanger, 5151 Orth Rd., Suite A-1, Poplar Grove, IL.  Contact: Chuck Jansen at (815) 742-9714 or canoebuild23@gmail.com.

Engineering:

UTC Aerospace, 4747 Harrison Ave., SW side entrance, Rockford, IL.  Contact: Nick Wlaznik at 815-226-6345 or nick.wlaznik@utas.utc.com.

Medical:

SwedishAmerican Hospital, 1401 E. State St., Rockford, IL. Contact: Rebekah Hopper at 779-696-6542 or rahopper@swedishamerican.org

Fire & Rescue:

Rockford Fire Department. – Contact: Investigator John McGee at 779.207.8219 or John.Mcgee@rockfordil.gov, or Randy James at 779-500-6536 or randy.james@rockfordil.gov.

North Boone Fire Department – Contact: Tim Davis at (815) 765-208 or timd110@yahoo.com.

Law Enforcement:

Winnebago County Sherriff’s Department. Contact: Sgt. T. Stanley at 815-319-6010 or StanleyT@WCSO-IL.us.

Boone County Sheriff’s Department and Belvidere Police Department – Meets every 3rd Thursday of the month, 6:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m., at the Public Safety Building, lower level, 615 North Main Street, Belvidere, IL, 61008. Contact: Officer Joe Danielak at 815-547-6374 or danielak@belviderepolice.com.

Rockford Police Department, Public Safety Building, 420 W. State St., Rockford, IL.  Contacts: Sgt. Matthew Krantz at (815) 298-6780 or matthew.krantz@rockfordil.gov.

Dentistry:

Winnebago County Dental Association.  Contact: Catherine Baer-Mirza at 815 964-8713 or rockfordfamilydental@gmail.com.

Conservation/Outdoor Education:

Severson Dells and the Winnebago County Forest Preserve District. Contact: Ann Wasser at 815-335-2915 or ann@seversondells.org.

There is a yearly application fee for all programs.  Each program varies in a cost range of $33-$45.  For more information, contact Jared Carlin, 815.397.0210, [Click for member's page].

To research Career Exploring online, go to www.exploring.orgExternal Link